Breaking News

39 parties form coalition against APC including PDP, rAPC, SDP

39 parties form coalition against APC including PDP, rAPC, SDP
The Peoples Democratic Party has formed a coalition of 45 political parties to oppose ruling party in the coming 2019 general elections.

The Memorandum of Understanding produced the Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP) . The coalition aims at seeking and promoting core values for restructuring the federation.

The 39 parties which signed the MoU at a crowded ceremony in Abuja Monday, include, PDP, rAPC, Social Democratic Party (SDP), African Democratic Party (ADC), Action Alliance (AA), Alliance for Democracy (AD), Action Democratic Party (ADP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Advanced Congress of Democrats (ACD), Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP), Democratic Alternative (DA) and Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC).

Others are National Conscience Party (NCP), New Generation Party (NGP), National Unity Party (NUP), Nigeria Intervention Movement (NIM), Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), People for Democratic Change (PDC), Providence Peoples Congress (PPC), Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN), Restoration Party of Nigeria (RPN), Young Democratic Party (YDP), KOWA Party, Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), C4C and others.

Prince Uche Secondus, the national chairman of PDP said at the opening of the event that the alliance marks the beginning of joint efforts to rescue the nation from hardship and bad governance.

He said "We are ready to go to detention until our freedom and good government is restored"

Others who spoke at the gathering include former National Secretary PDP National Caretaker Committee Senator Ben Obi, Minister of Foreign Affairs Chief Tom Ihimi among others

No comments